The 4 o’clock raid

After having my hubby working from home for 5 weeks, I’ve worked out his routines and eating habits — he drinks far to much coffee! (I can say that because I only have a decaf a week) and raids the kitchen like a hungry bear at 4 o’clock every afternoon. First it was the leftover cheese and crackers, then a few Christmas sweets and now the fruit is disappearing at record speed. I really shouldn’t complain because if he was working downtown that would have meant a trip to the local “5 Bucks” and money out of our pocketbook. My first solution was to move dinner up to 5pm instead of 6pm — but that just resulted in the raid happening at 11pm instead which isn’t good for anyone. My 2nd try: I had to bake a few extra treats for afternoon snacks, which meant I needed a few things from the Food Basics.

Spend: $18.22

bag of milk, pound of butter, lrg tub of margarine, carrots, cucumber, 2 pkg of ramen noodles ( it help me use up my cabbage) and 2 boxes of tissues (because everyone in our family has a cold right now)

So, what did we make?

We love gingerbread cookies all year round, it is the easiest cookie to make refined-sugar free, so Josie can eat them. This is our favorite recipe so far ~ Gingerbread Cookies recipe

You will soon figure out that I love Looneyspoons by Janet & Greta Podleski, a dear friend bought me their Collection Recipe book for my birthday and I love it! We made their Bananaberry Bombs  — just subing out the sugar for 1/4 cup of agave nectar.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup quick-cooking rolled oats (not instant)
  • ½ cup each all-purpose flour and whole wheat flour
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • ¼ cup ground flaxseed or wheat germ
  • 1½ tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1½ cups mashed ripe bananas (about 3 large or 4 small)
  • ¼ cup butter, melted
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries

Directions

Preheat oven to 375°F. Spray a 12-cup muffin tin with cooking spray and set aside.

Combine oats, both flours, sugar, ground flaxseed, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a large bowl. Mix well and set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk together bananas, butter and egg. Add banana mixture to dry ingredients and stir just until dry ingredients are moistened. Gently fold in blueberries.

Divide batter among 12 muffin cups. Bake for 20 minutes, or until a wooden pick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool on a wire rack.

Makes 12 muffins

Per muffin: 183 calories, 5.7 g total fat (3 g saturated fat), 3.7 g protein, 30 g carbohydrate, 3.1 g fiber, 26 mg cholesterol, 209 mg sodium

Note about the fruit, I didn’t use fresh I used frozen! I try to check my bananas or berries a day or two before are heading the way of the garbage can. I keep a large ziploc bag of whole unpeel bananas – warning they go completely black but once you unfreeze them they make the best banana baked goods you will ever have!

Emergency/Meat Fund: $4.42

Leave a Reply

