Week 10 & 11

I’ve been a busy lately..so no posting~sorry. We had a mini-vacation to Ohio to see our newest sweet nephew, the kids have been sick and on the BRAT diet for 3 days now & I’ve started a new role at my stay-at-home job which has me busy. I have spend my “suck in the house with sickies” home time baking homemade snacks and treats for our busy spring.

We love muffins and they are easy to make refined sugar free by subing out the sugar for maple syrup, honey or agave . I always put ground flax seed in every muffin batch I make and I always look for recipes for that include oatmeal. I’m enjoying using my new Pampered Chef mini muffin tin to try all sorts of recipes and not one muffin has stuck yet!

We are loving coconut palm sugar (best deal on it is at Costco) — we gave it a try a few months ago to help our flat cookie dilemma. Coconut palm sugar has a similar texture as brown sugar so it keeps the cookies together and looking like a cookie instead of a pan of squares.

We can’t forget our favorite gluten free chocolate treats;  Greta’s Miracle Brownies & Black Bean Chocolate Cake. All our treat are freezable and I can pull one or two out for Josie’s lunch or a special dessert. It’s better on the budget and the waistline!

Last week’s spend: Longos & Costco  – total spend = $108.69

Argula, 6 lemons, 8 bananas, 16 oranges, 6 apples, 3 mangos, spring mix, 2 broccoli, carrots, green onions, blueberries, strawberries, 4 green peppers,  2 tomatoes,  red onions, cucumbers, 2 bags of Tostitos Scoops, 4 loaves of Dempesters bread, tortillas, Josie’s bread, cinnamon, pork loin roast, deli ham & Montreal Smoked Beef, sliced havarti, 2 pcs of rainbow trout, 18 eggs, 3 tubs of plain greek yogurt, 2 containers of hummus & coconut sugar.

This week’s spend: Longos – total spend = $48.58

5lbs of bananas, 6 tomatoes, ice berg lettuces, grapes, basil, cauliflower, 3 pkgs of blueberries,  jar of applesauce, can of pumpkin puree, 2 pkg of mini chocolate chips, 1 loaf of Dempesters bread,  Josie’s bread, 2 thin crusted pizza, chicken nuggets & mozarella cheese

Sunday – pizza night

Monday – pork chops & fried rice

Tuesday – GF  pasta with argula

Wednesday –  chicken fajitas

Thursday – Rainbow Trout & rice

Friday – Chicken nuggets & sweet potato fries

Saturday – Going away for our church retreat weekend

Emergency Fund: $44.85

Leave a comment